Shri Phagu Chauhan
Prof Girish Kumar Choudhary
             (Vice Chancellor)
       Prof. Ajay Kumar Singh
           (Pro-Vice Chancellor)
Col Kamesh Kumar
Home Calendars Contact Us PU Mail
Seminars & Conferences
Awards & Recognitions
Recruitment / Appointment
Gender Sensitization Cell
Grievance Cell
Placement Cell
Anti Ragging
Right to Information (RTI)
Right to Service (RTS)
Centenary Year (1917-2017)
Annual Report
News Bulletin
National Service Scheme
P.U. Journal
Digital Learning

Department of Sociology

The Department of Sociology was started in Patna University way back in July, 1951 which was headed by an eminent political scientist like Prof. V.K.N. Menon. He was succeeded by an eminent sociologist like Narmadeshwar Prasad. The Department soon emerged as the most important centre for teaching and research in sociology in the entire eastern region of India. The department was privileged to host the 2nd All India Sociological Conference in 1956. The department attracted top most sociologists of the time such as Prof. M. N. Srinivas, Prof. S.C. Dubey, Prof. Yogendra Singh, Prof. R. K. Mukherjee, Prof. S. P. Nagendra, Prof. R. N. Saxena and Prof. S. K. Srivastava who frequented the department in various capacities. Among its alumni Prof. Partha N. Mukherjee rose to the rank of Director, TISS, Mumbai and the President of the All India Sociological Society; Prof. M. N. Karna rose to the post of Head Deptt. of Sociology, NEHU, Shillong and Director of ANISS, Patna, Prof. Vimlesh Pathak to the Head of Dept. of Sociology, Uttakal University; Prof. R. N. Drivedi to the post of Head of the Department of Sociology, M.G. Kashi, Vidyapeeth, Varanasi; Prof. K.G. Iyer, Head of the Department of Sociology, Punjab University, Chandigarh, Dr S.N. Choudhary, Head, Department of Sociology, Barkatullah University, Bhopal, Dr Umeshwar Pandey and Dr Firdausi served as the senior faculty member in the Administrative Staff College, Hyderabad and Prof. (Mrs) N. 1. Usha Rao held Reserve Bank Chair at the ISEC, Banglore to name a few. Most of the teachers of Sociology in the states of Bihar and Jharkhand have been students of this department. Our old students Dr Bindeshwar Pathak was awarded prestigious award like ‘Padma Vibhushan’ for his significant contributions to the field of environment, social work and uplift of downtrodden. Another alumnus Dr J.P. Singh moved to do his M.Phil to JNU, New Delhi aI1d for Ph.D. to A.N.U., Australia. Later on he served as the Director of Higher Education to the Govt. of Bihar and Pro Vice Chancellor, Patna University. Prof. G.K. Prasad a student and teacher of the Department served as a visiting Professor in a University in Zambia. Besides, many of our students such as Anand Singh Gupta, Jay Shankar Singh, Arjun Yadav etc. served at higher position in the Coal India Ltd. The department is privileged to attract many foreign scholars as well. Prof. R. Gusfield (USA) and Prof. Murray Milner (USA) have been Visiting Professors. A seminar on chronic poverty was organized in March 2003 attended by Prof. Anand Kumar of JNU, Prof. Asha Kapoor of IIP A., New Delhi and Prof. Roberstson of Manchester University, U. K. The department also organized a seminar on ‘Globalization and India’. Prof. G.K. Lieten from the University of Amsterdam gave the keynote address in February 2004. The department had an interactive session with Prof. Matson of Sweden on the possibility of coordinated research work in India and Sweden. In August, 2012: Dr Eva Kasparov, Associate Prof. University of Prague, Czech Republic visited the Department and delivered lectures. Just now the Department is carrying out research on “Education in Bihar” in collaboration with the Institute for. Human Development, New Delhi and a survey of the status of education among the students aged between 14 to 18 years in collaboration with ACER and PRATHAM. The present Head is Dr R.N. Sharma who has been on the Editorial Advisory Board of Sociological Bulletin, the official journal of Sociology in India of very high esteem. First Head: Prof V. K. N. Menon Present Head: Dr. Vijay Kumar Lal