Shri Phagu Chauhan
Prof Girish Kumar Choudhary
             (Vice Chancellor)
       Prof. Ajay Kumar Singh
           (Pro-Vice Chancellor)
Col Kamesh Kumar
Home Calendars Contact Us PU Mail
Seminars & Conferences
Awards & Recognitions
Recruitment / Appointment
Gender Sensitization Cell
Grievance Cell
Placement Cell
Anti Ragging
Right to Information (RTI)
Right to Service (RTS)
Centenary Year (1917-2017)
Annual Report
News Bulletin
National Service Scheme
P.U. Journal
Digital Learning

Department of Economics

Post Graduate Department of Economics, Patna University started initially in the year 1917 as a part of Patna College. With promulgation of the P.U. Act 1952, it was separated and started functioning as the Department of Economics, Patna University. Subsequently in the year 1957, the department was shifted to its present location i.e. Darbhanga House. The Department imparts two-year Master’s programme in Economics with Semester System in place since 2012. The entire course is divided into four semesters. University examination is conducted at the end of each semester. Apart from this, we also enrol students for PhD/D Lit. Programme. Ph D degree is awarded on the basis of evaluation of thesis by two external examiners and the supervisor and viva-voce examination conducted by the Department. The Department of Economics bears a glorious past. Since its inception, the department has maintained its reputation. The department is progressing and aims to set a benchmark in an atmosphere where journey is a pleasure giving newer heights to the department. The students and faculty members grow together in tandem with the aim to bring out inherent creative skills of students and faculty members to the forefront. As the students of today are the future hope of the country, developing and nurturing them is required and is a step in right direction as education is an instrument of social change, economic development, promoting universal brotherhood, national reconstruction and integration. To name a few who have left their remarkable footprints: • Bihar Vibhuti Anugrah Narayan Singh: First Finance Minister of Bihar. He was in Cabinet since Independence till his life. • Bhagwat Jha Azad: Union Cabinet Minister & Chief Minister of Bihar • Justice Shyam Nandan Prasad Singh: Chief Justice, Patna High Court & Lokayukta, Bihar • Chandra Shekhar Singh: Chief Minister of Bihar • Baliram Bhagat: Union Minister & Speaker, Lok Sabha • Indradeep Sinha: Minister, Govt. Of India • Lalit Narayan Mishra: Minister, Govt. Of India • Jagannath Sarkar: Radical intellectual • Tarkeshwari Sinha: Deputy Finance Minister, Govt. of India. She was a minister in Jawahar Lal Nehru Cabinet. • Justice K B N Singh: Chief Justice, Patna High Court • Shivajee Sinha: IPS, First batch IPS after Independence Apart from it, some of our illustrious alumni who have served the society and the nation by their valuable contributions are: Prof. Muchkund Dubey, IFS, Mr Shyam Saran, IFS, former Foreign Secretaries of India, Justice Mridula Mishra, former Judge, Patna High Court, Patna, Shri Shyam Ballabh Sharma, Former Executive Director, NABARD, Prof. Alakh N. Sharma, Director, Institute for Human Development, Delhi, Dr Shaibal Gupta, Member Secretary, ADRI, Patna and many more. The Department directs its efforts to support the mission of the university and dedicates itself to promote an academic culture that provides opportunities to obtain the skill, knowledge and behaviour for empowering our students to be productive citizens. Our efforts focus to broaden their understanding of themselves and the world they live in, by developing strong communication, interpersonal and leadership skills, lifelong learning skills, profound social skills appreciation for healthy environment and life styles and commitment to the society, nation and humanity. We thrive to advance the frontiers of economic knowledge by fostering innovative research that addresses significant global and regional issues The mission of the Department is to provide and sustain a modern and dynamic environment that ensures our students as well as faculty members a high level of personal and academic achievement as determined by local, state, national and international standards. We are committed to a comprehensive system of support including all stakeholders. The Department hosted the Annual Conference of Indian Economic Association in December 1969. The Patna Conference in December 1969 hosted by the Department was presided over by an eminent economist and a former Vice Chancellor, Calcutta University, Dr S.N. Sen. Other eminent economists who visited the Department and delivered lectures on this occasion included Prof. D.T. Lakdawala, Prof. P.R. Brahamananda (Bombay University), Prof. P.N. Mathur (Director, Gokhale Institute Of Politics and Economics), Prof. Rangnath Bhardwaj (Bombay University), Prof. G.S. Bhalla and Prof. Rangnekar of Punjab University and Prof. Shanmugsundaram of Madras University and Prof. Y.K. Alagh then Assistant Director, Sardar Patel Institute, among others. Earlier Prof. Gyan Chand, Dr B. R. Shenoy and Prof. CN. Vakali also visited the Department. An International seminar on “Youth Unemployment in India: Dimensions, Challenges and Strategies” is also an outcome of this effort. The Department of Economics organised this seminar on 17-19th May, 2013 in collaboration with Indian society of Labour Economics, IHD Eastern Regional Centre. Eminent personalities like Dr Sonale Desai, Professor, University of Maryland, USA, Professor T. S. Papola, Professor Amitabh Kundu, Dr Thomas Barnes, Department of Political Economy, University of Sydney, Australia, Dr Himanshu, Professor Shankar Bhowmik, Dr Binayak Rath, Dr Rajarshi Mujumdar, Dr Abhinav Alakshendra, Department of Urban and Regional Planning, University of Florida, Ms Amrita Dutta, Ms Jyotsna Roy, Professor S. R. Hasim, Prof. Ravi Shrivastava and many more attended the seminar. A national seminar on “Financial Inclusion and Women Empowerment in India” was organised by the department on 24th & 25th September, 2016 at Seminar Hall Magadh Mahila College. It was a UGC sponsored seminar in collaboration with Magadh Mahila College addressing the malice of gender discrimination and women’s empowerment in India. With the objective of providing a perennial source of valuable information on various socio-economic issues the Department is publishing a journal “Journal of Economic Development of Patna University” Publication of the journal is an attempt to encourage the academics by providing an opportunity to the teachers, students and academicians to maintain and enhance their academic interests. The Previous heads of the department: Prof. Harbans Lal (1952), Prof. B.N. Mukherjee, Prof. Dibakar Jha, Prof. K.N. Prasad, Prof. P.C. Mukherjee, Prof. Amarnath Kapoor, Prof. Mrs Maya Prasad, Prof. Banke Bihari Singh, Prof. H.K. Sahay, Prof. V.P. Singh, Prof. G. Purbey, Prof. S. S. Tulsyan, Prof. N.K. Choudhary, Prof. B.P.Singh, Prof. Rai Murari, Prof. Asha Singh, Prof Kumudani Sinha (2014 to till date). First Head: Prof. Harbans Lal Present Head: Prof. Dr. Saroj Sinha